Sunday, May 15, 2016

Finishing Up The Grownup & Starting This Census-Taker

All I can think right now is "what did I just read". I honestly could not even finish this short story. I got halfway through and could not read anymore. I am so disappointed. I loved Sharp Objects, Dark Places, and Gone Girl but this one I did not like at all. 

Book Club Questions About The Grownup:

1. If you have read Sharp Objects, Dark Places, or Gone Girl how do you think The Grownup compared? 

2. Did you enjoy this short read and wish it would of been longer? Or like me did you just want it to end?

3. If Gillian Flynn were to offer another short story would you be interested in reading it? 
Our next book is This Census-Taker by China Miéville. We will be starting it Monday May 16th and ending Wednesday June 1st. 

Synopsis From Goodreads: For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, and Karen Russell,This Census Taker is the poignant and uncanny new novella from award-winning and bestselling author China Miéville. After witnessing a profoundly traumatic event, a boy is left alone in a remote house on a hilltop with his increasingly deranged parent. When a stranger knocks on his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation are over—but by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? Is he the boy’s friend? His enemy? Or something altogether other?

Lets Get Reading!